A tendency…

Standard

Placing my thoughts and words in the piece of Earth that is somewhat aware of my footsteps, I’ll dare say -almost affirm- something: a thought is governing the lifestyles of people nowadays.

Following desire. Pleasure placed as the main and most important thing to enjoy life at the fullest. All in hand with the avoidance of pain.

There is so much to wonder and ponder. It has taken thousands of years of civilization to reach to a conclusion: nothing is conclusive… But something does come up when I think of my 6 year old cousin, remembering what he said that day when he ate as much chocolate cake as I could have eaten in 3 days (“oh, my tummy hurts real bad”)… the pleasure of sweet and chocolate, was transient. Pain came unexpectedly to the young mind. The thing is, if you don’t measure your pleasure, on the short or long term you could be getting even a bigger pain than the one you so strongly avoid.

I warn you that I will speak now of something I’m totally not experienced about; and here it goes… Great as some pleasures can be, as casual sex for example, couldn’t that pleasure get to be counterproductive in the future? What if you are missing of a greater pleasure that can involve much more aspects about your true self, other than physical satisfaction?

And pain. Pain. It’s normal to want to minimize it, but it will never stop coming in this life. And as awful as it is, pain comes many times with things we learn. Quoting Gibran: Your pain is the breaking of the shell that encloses your understanding. Do not underestimate pain.

There’s a balance that is obviously shown to us by nature. From temperature exchange between masses, to the water cycle, to the placing of electronic charges in a given atom. Ugly pain and sweet pleasure, come in measure.

I wouldn’t look for pleasure, I would look for balance.

6 responses »

  1. I like this topic, and often think of the downside of pleasure, too much of it. An hour ago I was talking to my daughter about drugs, why I think they’re so counterproductive. It’s not so much the damage they do to the body, which is great, but it’s how they distort our perceptions of life and of pleasure.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog :). I love to talk about the necessity of pain. It’s really been given a bad name in society (mine is American). If you teach people to be afraid of pain, you teach people to be afraid of life.

    • Thanks for commenting. Yes, I think balance is the key.
      Talking about pain, I’ll give you a fun example. This post started as an intent to write about Hedonism… It turned out I didn’t quite know all the branches and implications included in that school of thought, and a little pain of shame (I was corrected) made me edit it. Dear little pain, it helped me learn! hehe
      Now seriously, of course we shouldn’t be looking for pain, but when it comes, we have to be wise enough to accept it and deal with it the best way possible; and that attitude can bring unexpected knowledge to us.
      Your blog is interesting… Greetings!

      • It’s funny how we start out writing about one thing and then an hour later we’re in a completely differnt woods. I kind of like that about writing. Yeah, I agree, we probably shouldn’t seek pain, but really, you don’t have to seek it, it’s just there. Then again, maybe it’s not so obvious to some. For me, pain is a motivator, it makes me want to do something, write something, cook something, dance (badly), sing loudly in the car. This morning on my commute I was thinking about tears. In my experience, if we deny them, somebody else has to wind up crying them for us. Maybe it will be our children? I sometimes wonder whose tears I’m shedding. My father and mother both experienced significant tragedy in their lives long before I was born, but nobody ever talked about it to me. I learned of their histories much later in my life, and even then it was discussed with one or two curious siblings. Sensitive people often wind up weeping for others. But I’m not a masochist :)! HA HA.

        • I’m thinking you are probably right about pain being a motivator in some level… when I’m feeling sad is when I find myself filling my notebook with poems.
          The brain and the heart, huge mysteries… People are more subconsciously connected than what is commonly imagined; may we share or pass on with people tears and smiles.

          And, I will be annoying now, haha… I’m american also, even if I don’t live in the US, because America is a continent!

Leave a Reply

